Vegan vs. Vegetarian
Do you know the difference between a vegan and a vegetarian? Believe it or not, some people might think of it as the same diet. This assumption is only partially true. The term “vegetarian” is an umbrella term that includes several different diets, including vegan. While there are some similarities between the separate vegetarian categories, there are some clear differences as well. As a fellow meat-eater, I never really considered the benefits of trying other diets until now. It’s important to figure out a diet that’s right for you and your body. Your health should be a primary concern, and knowing the types of diets that are out there might help to improve your well-being.
To my surprise, there are more than a handful of various vegetarian diets. These diets include vegan, lacto-vegetarian, lacto-ovo-vegetarian, pescatarian, and flexitarian. There is one common denominator between all diets that may bring some type of common ground. For the most part, each of these categories stay away from the consumption of meat. The only exception to this is the flexitarian diet, in which a rare meat-eating meal is acceptable to have.
Three factors that depend on the specific vegetarian diet is the allowance of fish, eggs, and dairy. For example, a pescatarian welcomes fish into their everyday diet, while a lacto-ovo vegetarian discourages it. Another example of this is in the lacto-vegetarian diet, where all meat, fish, and eggs are forbidden, yet dairy is okay. I know, it can get a bit confusing. Yet, more types of vegetarian diets mean more options for you to choose from. You might discover more than you think about yourself by trying out different dietary methods!
After taking a closer look, it’s easy to conclude that a vegan diet is by far the strictest. Vegan diets exclude all meat, poultry, fish, eggs, and dairy products. Personally, everything I just listed is a good portion of my entire diet. Prior to looking into this, it was hard for me to come up with other foods that can be eaten! So, now knowing what vegans can’t eat, what can they eat?
Turns out, there’s a good amount of nutrient-rich food that is permitted in a vegan diet. Vegans can eat pasta, rice, vegetables, seeds, milk alternatives (almond, soy), nuts, beans, and more. As much as meat can be tasty, there are ways to still enjoy a delicious meal without it. To store nuts or seeds, you might like this krafty brown bag. This bag is single-sided clear so that you can see your snack from the outside to avoid confusion. Also, the flat bag fits perfectly in tight storage spaces!
In a Nutshell
Ultimately, the terms “vegetarian” and “vegan” are not too far off, but should never be considered the same. While vegan is a type of vegetarian diet, vegetarianism is not vegan. No matter which diet you choose, our metallic StandStrong™ bags are perfect for storing and preserving your ingredients. This bag is single-sided to show what you are taking out of the refrigerator each time, and made with metallic film to ensure fresh food over a longer duration. We have some awesome vegan recipes for you to try. If you like this blog, check out our other blog on the best pumpkin seed recipes.